Society of Equestrian Artists - "Talk about Art!"

The UK's Society of Equestrian Artists forum for discussing all equestrian/equine art matters

You are not logged in.

Announcement

18 Apr 10 - This forum is now closed - members may read / search areas where they previously had access rights, but no amendments of any sort are now possible. It will be maintained for reference purposes ONLY for a few months

#1 2009-08-18 14:09:05

Te(t)chy_admin
Forum Techie (I'm NOT an artist!)
Registered: 2008-04-12
Posts: 96

warning to all!

Beware someone approaching you offering you advertising space in. a police-sponsored magazine targetting horse crime!  Their contact info seems to come from "Directory of the Turf" and web-site trawling!


Additional information

Just a word of warning

We have been contacted by somebody called 'Kevin' from "The Police Press Office", saying that there was a police initiative against horse crime, involving publishing a magazine, which would require sponsorship

     • Sian was called on her mobile asking if she would like to be 'the only artist in this region' in the directory, with a quoted price (£195 for 1/8 A4 page)

     • She asked for more information to be sent by email (they had her email address)

     • He agreed to provide more information

     • 10 mins later, another telephone call to her mobile (from the person dealing with confimations, implying that she had confirmed)

     •she again asked for an email with the details before any confirmation

     • 10 mins later, further phone call from 'Kevin' - I answered!

     • He told me that Sian had confirmed her requirement for an advert (She HADN'T - I'd heard her end of both previous conversations)

     • All calls were number unknown/witheld - 'Kevin' said it was head office policy, but wouldn't give me any number to call back and verify.  He said he'd email details immediately, I insisted on him giving me his number - he hung up in a huff

• Surprise Surprise - no email received! 

The Police Press Office in Cambridge have no 'Kevin'

I've reported this to the police, who have raised an incident number!

Others might not be as wary as Sian and I - I leave it to your judgement what you do with this information

Beware!!!


Bruce
"If you have forum content questions, I'm not your man!"cool
(note - I don't read all the posts - if you want me to do something, please drop me an email via the link on the left!)

Offline

 

#2 2009-08-18 15:29:07

Seth
Full Member SEA
Registered: 2008-04-14
Posts: 282

Re: warning to all!

Thanks for the warning. This sort of thing is endemic.
If anyone rings selling unsolicited advertising, I either hang up or tell them I'm Wishee-Washee's Chinese laundry, or similar. Withheld numbers tend to get the same treatment, unless I'm expecting a call from a company with a switchboard.

Last edited by Seth (2009-08-18 15:32:00)

Offline

 

#3 2009-08-18 16:09:50

Singing Gold
Full Member SEA and Exec Committee member
From: Somerset
Registered: 2008-04-17
Posts: 118
Website

Re: warning to all!

I had the call too offering me the only equestrian artist space, same costs etc etc, luckily I said no!


Knowledge is realizing that the street is one-way, wisdom is looking both directions anyway.

www.equinart.co.uk

Offline

 

#4 2009-08-18 16:16:32

Seth
Full Member SEA
Registered: 2008-04-14
Posts: 282

Re: warning to all!

Wonder where they're getting the numbers from? I haven't had specific calls about horse art advertising since I stopped putting my number in the equestrian directory.

I don't usually allow my main number on anything, even my own website, and almost nobody even knows I have a mobile, still less its number. That means people have to ring on my home phone, and if their no. is witheld, my phone warns me. I'm also ex-directory, and on the telephone pref service as well.

My mother had three phoney calls last week asking for her to accept a reverse-charge call- there is a lot of phone fraud about.

Last edited by Seth (2009-08-18 16:16:49)

Offline

 

#5 2009-08-20 14:08:34

Sarah
Associate Member SEA
From: Knutsford, Cheshire
Registered: 2008-04-17
Posts: 147

Re: warning to all!

Rather usefully my home number is still listed in all the BT directories under my maiden name, so I know instantly if it's a cold caller and just say 'sorry, wrong number'.  If people don't ask for me by name anyway, I'm always suspicious...  I particularly hate all those automatic dialling calls which seem to have increased hugely over the past year or so.  A pain!


When my website's ready you'll be the first to know!

Offline

 

#6 2009-08-20 20:22:54

Seth
Full Member SEA
Registered: 2008-04-14
Posts: 282

Re: warning to all!

Try the telephone preference service,and there is another on for the automatic dial calls.
They do work.

Offline

 

#7 2009-08-21 08:39:27

Madrigal
Moderator, Full Member SEA, and Exec Cttee member
From: Huntingdon
Registered: 2008-04-13
Posts: 164

Re: warning to all!

This caller told me that he had got my details from Directory of the Turf, and that he was looking at my website. He must also have gone right through the SEA site as he called on my mobile which is listed as  a contact number for workshops.
Cold callers normally get a 'no thankyou and I hang up'.

Offline

 

#8 2009-08-21 09:05:00

Sarah
Associate Member SEA
From: Knutsford, Cheshire
Registered: 2008-04-17
Posts: 147

Re: warning to all!

I must say I've had quite a lot of ad sales people calling via Directory of the Turf too over the years.  I think they tend to assume that if you are connected with horseracing you've got pots of disposable income!  Watch out too for 'unmissable' offers around Grand National time - they seem to ring me every single year trying to flog discounted corporate entertainment space which so and so has cancelled...

I should add though that I've also had one or two genuine enquiries from there too.

Last edited by Sarah (2009-08-21 09:05:40)


When my website's ready you'll be the first to know!

Offline

 

#9 2009-08-21 10:08:26

Singing Gold
Full Member SEA and Exec Committee member
From: Somerset
Registered: 2008-04-17
Posts: 118
Website

Re: warning to all!

The enquiry I had was from the Directory of the Turf, can't remember if my mobile is on that or not, or if it's on the SEA site but it is on my own website........ I genarally get so rude to them that they get fed up of me anyway!


Knowledge is realizing that the street is one-way, wisdom is looking both directions anyway.

www.equinart.co.uk

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB 1.2.17
© Copyright 2002–2005 Rickard Andersson